Buddha Amida

large statue of Buddha from a small temple in the Meguro neighbourhood of Tokyo, Banryuji

This large statue of the Amida Buddha comes from a small temple in the Meguro neighbourhood of Tōkyō, Banryūji, under the Jōdo Amidist Buddhist sect. An illustration in the Edo meisho zue (vol.7) helps us picture the Buddha in his environment during the Tempō Era (1830-1844). This temple was dedicated to teaching and was no longer necessary when a public school was founded in the early Meiji Era.

Cernuschi bought this statue, which was kept outside after a fire in the building where it was previously housed. The registers of the Zōjōji monastery mention a request made by two foreigners through a goods dealer to purchase this statue for 500 ryōs. The residents of the neighbourhood, if the report given by Théodore Duret in Travels to Asia is to be believed, were not supportive of this decision, he thinks, and tried to buy the monumental sculpture back from Cernuschi. In Travels to Asia,Duret also describes how the sculpture was carved into pieces before being sent to Paris. It was then remounted by the Barbedienne workshops and displayed at the Palace of Industry before being installed in the large hall on the first floor of the hotel on Vélasquez Avenue.

In 1983, the Buddha’s precise origins were identified. The statute predates its nimbus, which may have been a replacement of the original nimbus destroyed in the temple fire. The lotus-shaped pedestal and the nimbus bear inscriptions naming the donors; the nimbus indicates the names of Iseya Chōbei and Minamoto Masamitsu. The name of Minamoto Masamitsu is not listed in the rare works dedicated to the founders of the Edo Period. Iseya Chōbei was only a merchant. He supplied goods to Buddhist or Shinto temples in different regions of Japan during the Bunka-Bunsei and Hōreki eras.

Find out other japanese decorative artworks on the museum's website

Notice's author : Musée Cernuschi

Buddha Amida

GRAND BOUDDHA EN BRONZE PROVENANT DU QUARTIER DE MEGURO

Cette grande statue du bouddha Amida provient d’un petit temple du quartier de Meguro à Tōkyō, le Banryūji, qui dépend  de la secte Jōdo du bouddhisme amidiste. On trouve une illustration dans le Edo meisho zue (vol.7) qui permet d’imaginer le bouddha dans son environnement au cours de l’ère Tempō (1830  1844). Ce temple était consacré à l’enseignement et perdit sa fonction avec l’instauration de l’école publique au début de Meiji.

La statue, qui était à l’air libre après l’incendie du bâtiment qui l’abritait, fut vendue à Cernuschi. Les registres du monastère Zōjōji gardent mention de la demande déposée par deux étrangers par l’intermédiaire d’un brocanteur de l’achat de cette statue pour la somme de 500 ryōs. Les habitants du quartier, si l’on en croit la relation qu’en fait Théodore Duret dans son Voyage en Asie, acceptèrent mal la chose et tentèrent semble-t-il de racheter la sculpture monumentale à Cernuschi. Duret rapporte également dans Voyage en Asie les circonstances dans lesquelles la sculpture fut découpée en pièces pour être envoyée à Paris. Elle fut alors remontée par les ateliers de Barbedienne et exposée au Palais de l’industrie avant de venir prendre place dans la grande salle du premier étage de l’hôtel de l’avenue Vélasquez.

Ce n’est qu’en 1983 que l’origine du Bouddha fut identifiée avec précision. La statue serait antérieure au nimbe, dont la date pourrait correspondre à un remplacement du nimbe d’origine qui aurait été détruit dans l’incendie du temple. Le piédestal en forme de lotus et le nimbe comportent des inscriptions désignant les donateurs ; le nimbe indique les noms de Iseya Chōbei ou encore Minamoto Masamitsu. Le nom de Minamoto Masamitsu n’est pas répertorie dans les rares ouvrages consacres aux fondeurs de l’époque d’Edo. Quant à Iseya Chōbei, il n’aurait été en fait qu’un marchand. Il a fourni des temples bouddhiques ou shintoistes de différentes régions du Japon au cours de la période couvrant les ères Bunka-Bunsei et l’ère Hōreki.

En savoir plus sur les collections du musée Cernuschi sur le site du musée